Week 48 in review: Lumia flagships go extinct, as HMD gears up to revive the Nokia brand

Week 48 in review: Lumia flagships go extinct, as HMD gears up to revive the Nokia brand Sun, 04 Dec 2016 00:41:20 In one of the more laid-back weeks of late, we still saw a few smartphone announcements, the most prominent being the Meizu Pro 6 Plus (yes, both 'Pro' and 'Plus'). A proper flagship, the Pro 6 Plus packs a 5.7-inch QHD display, and a Samsung Exynos 8890
[read more...]

Top 10 trending phones of week 48

Top 10 trending phones of week 48 Sun, 04 Dec 2016 05:34:46 It would have been just another week in our Top 10 trending chart if it wasn’t for the vivo V5. Likely a result of the phone becoming available early this week, the V5 has climbed further up from its 4th spot and we now find it rubbing shoulders with the
[read more...]

Nokia Lumia 1020 used as microscope in low-cost DNA sequencer

Nokia Lumia 1020 used as microscope in low-cost DNA sequencer Thu, 19 Jan 2017 10:48:55 The Nokia Lumia 1020 was launched back in 2013, but with its large 41MP sensor and innovative down-scaling algorithms is by many still regarded as one of the best smartphone cameras today. Now, a team of researchers from the University of California
[read more...]

Microsoft cutting 1,850 jobs from its smartphone hardware division

Microsoft cutting 1,850 jobs from its smartphone hardware division Wed, 25 May 2016 04:37:51 Last week as the Lumia 650, Lumia 950 and Lumia 950 XL, and phones from OEM partners like Acer, Alcatel, HP, Trinity and VAIO,” continued the company in a recent statement. Following the trend of its tablets, rumours suggest that a flagship Windows
[read more...]

Globe Begins Strictly Enforcing 1GB A Day/ 3GB A Month Fair Use Policy

Globe Begins Strictly Enforcing 1GB A Day/ 3GB A Month Fair Use Policy Sun, 26 Jan 2014 16:00:00 We (the author) have Smart’s 1500 LTE data plan, and while we regularly go over the limit, we haven’t had the unpleasant experience of being downgraded to 2G speeds yet. Only surfing promos and data plans for Globe’s postpaid service and Tattoo
[read more...]

Nokia 808 Pure View to cost around Rs 40,000

Nokia 808 Pure View to cost around Rs 40,000 Mon, 09 Apr 2012 22:30:00 By default the smartphone comes with 16 GB on-board storage, and it can support up to 48 GB in microSD cards while for 720p HD resolution one can go up to 6x zoom. Nokia 808 will come with Nokia Belle feature pack 1 and will also feature Dolby Mobile
[read more...]

Week 48 in review: Lumia flagships go extinct, as HMD gears up to revive the Nokia brand

Week 48 in review: Lumia flagships go extinct, as HMD gears up to revive the Nokia brand Sun, 04 Dec 2016 04:08:33 In one of the more laid-back weeks of late, we still saw a few smartphone announcements, the most prominent being the Meizu Pro 6 Plus (yes, both 'Pro' and 'Plus'). A proper flagship, the Pro 6 Plus packs a 5&period
[read more...]

Week 48 in review: Lumia flagships go extinct, as HMD gears up to revive the Nokia brand

Week 48 in review: Lumia flagships go extinct, as HMD gears up to revive the Nokia brand Sat, 03 Dec 2016 16:00:00 In one of the more laid-back weeks of late, we still saw a few smartphone announcements, the most prominent being the Meizu Pro 6 Plus (yes, both ‘Pro’ and ‘Plus’). A proper flagship, the Pro 6 Plus packs a 5.7-inch QHD display, and a Samsung
[read more...]